Fuel priming

alfadave

Fuel priming

Post by alfadave »

When I havn't used my car for a few days it can be difficut to start.

Seems the fuel drains back to the tank.( I have standard mech fuel pump.). Before I flatten the battery, I have used Easy Start.

Someone suggested a priming bulb?

Or maybe an electric fuel pump? But the mech one is fine.

I have a fuel filter before the carbs. Do they do a non return version?

Wondered what other people do?

Harry_p

Re: Fuel priming

Post by Harry_p »

Would like to know this too, as I’m new to them I don’t know whether it’s what they all do or if it’s something wrong.

Previous owner of mine fitted a non-return valve on the pipe near the tank, but it can still take a lot of cranking after sitting a week, I have considered another in the line between pump and carb, but not tried it yet, and not sure how the pump would cope with another restriction in the line.
Italian: ‘69 fiat 850 saloon, ‘80 alfasud super, 2012 Mito multiair 135
German: ‘72 VW dormobile camper, ‘87 Mk2 GTi 8v, ‘89 e30 m3, ‘96 e36 m3 evo saloon, ‘98 e36 318ti compact sport, ‘06 merc clk350
British: ‘94 metro gti 1.8, ‘91 metro 1.1c

Sud 145

Post by Sud 145 »

I tried a non-return between pump and carbs but saw no improvement so took it back out. After a couple of weeks without use I crank her over for 15-20 secs then give 4 pumps on the throttle and job's normally a goodun.

dave.armstrong

Post by dave.armstrong »

I changed mine for an electric pump

Harry_p

Post by Harry_p »

Did you block off and remove the mechanical pump Or just remove the hoses?
Italian: ‘69 fiat 850 saloon, ‘80 alfasud super, 2012 Mito multiair 135
German: ‘72 VW dormobile camper, ‘87 Mk2 GTi 8v, ‘89 e30 m3, ‘96 e36 m3 evo saloon, ‘98 e36 318ti compact sport, ‘06 merc clk350
British: ‘94 metro gti 1.8, ‘91 metro 1.1c

dave.armstrong

Post by dave.armstrong »

I removed it and made a blanking plate

alfadave

Post by alfadave »